Have a Question? Call Us!



Total Benefit Systems, Inc.

Under the Affordable Care Act (ACA) health insurance plans are required to meet metal tier equivalents beginning in 2014. These rules currently apply to all individual and small group plans and will eventually include all employer plans regardless of size. The four tiers of coverage based on the tiered metal system are bronze, silver, gold and platinum. The metals are classified on a system of actuarial value; that is, the share of health plan expenses the plan will cover. When selecting a plan the cost sharing responsibilities of the health insurance provider will vary based on the metal plan selected. Here’s a breakdown of what is covered under each metal tier for a standard population (or those that are not eligible for government-sponsored subsidies based on income level):

The Affordable Care Act (ACA)

Information Resources Regarding Healthcare Reform:

Health Care Reform – http://healthcare.gov/business
US Department of Health and Human Services – http://www.hhs.gov/
The Kaiser Foundation – http://www.kff.org/health-reform/
Internal Revenue Service – https://www.irs.gov/affordable-care-act
Small Business Association of Michigan - www.sbam.org
Michigan Business Professional Association  -
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan - http://bcbsm.com/healthreform/